The latest version of Blueprint gives you more ways to get support throughout your day, from documenting sessions to thinking through clinical questions and managing your practice.
It includes a new chat experience, more ways to document sessions, and tools that work alongside your existing EHR.
This article is intended for existing Blueprint users interested in switching to the latest version of Blueprint. Here, we'll cover the following topics:
A quick overview of the new, chat-forward UI
Benefits and new features included in the latest version of Blueprint
How to opt-in to the latest version from earlier versions of Blueprint
What's new compared to earlier versions of Blueprint
🆕 Ask Blueprint anything
The biggest addition is a built-in, HIPAA-compliant AI chat that uses your documented sessions as the foundation for support across the clinical and business sides of your practice. Ask questions, create documents, surface evidence-based practice research, demystify billing and insurance, develop marketing ideas, and more.
Here are a few things you can try in the new chat:
Explore your clients and sessions: Catch up on a client, follow a hunch, or uncover patterns across your clients.
Documentation: Draft treatment summaries, referral letters, biopsychosocials, and more using your existing notes.
Clinical support: Think through a difficult case, explore changes in assessment scores, or identify patterns in a client's progress.
Billing and insurance: Make sense of a denial or EOB, draft an appeal, or work through coding questions.
Client communication: Find the right words to explain a diagnosis or draft a sensitive message.
Practice growth: Refresh your therapist directory profile, write website copy, or draft outreach to referral sources.
You can ask follow-up questions, request revisions, explore ideas as you go, and review the results before using them.
🆕 Couples and family sessions
Capture a session with multiple people in the room and generate a Progress Note, saved to the client's chart.
🆕 EHR connectors
Not ready to use Blueprint as your full EHR, but still want to use it for generating your notes? No problem! And it just got easier.
You can now connect your EHR to Blueprint and send completed Progress Notes from Blueprint directly to the matching appointment in your EHR. No copying and pasting required.
(Currently this is only available for SimplePractice but additional EHRs connectors coming soon!)
🆕 A new layout
The latest version of Blueprint has a new chat-centered layout. So that you can ask Blueprint anything, anytime.
The main menu has moved from the top of the screen to the left side, but all of the same menus are still there; Client search, Sessions dashboard, Chats, and your Client list in the left sidebar:
Your profile menu in the bottom-left corner, where you can access your account settings:
💡 Need more room? Collapse the menu with the panel icon next to the client search. On mobile, tap the menu icon to open it:
How to try the latest version of Blueprint
You can switch to the latest version whenever you're ready.
On the Sessions dashboard, click Update Blueprint in the "Blueprint just got a major update" banner. Or click your name in the top-right and select Switch to new Blueprint.
Review what's included and click Try the new Blueprint.
Blueprint will take a moment to set things up, then open the new experience with a short tour.
💡 For group practices: An admin must make the switch, which applies to everyone in the practice. Other clinicians will see "Only an admin on your account can switch to the new Blueprint."
A few things to know
While there are new features included with the latest version of Blueprint, your existing features for capturing sessions and generating Progress Notes remain. Your existing clients, sessions, and notes remain, and your pricing doesn't change.
Other differences with the new version
Treatment outcomes reporting isn't available in the latest version yet.
Full session records can't be deleted because they're connected to chats, but you can still delete the pieces within the session from client charts, such as Progress Notes, Transcripts, and Session Summaries.
Switch back anytime
Want to return to an earlier version of Blueprint? You can switch back whenever you'd like.
Click your profile in the bottom-left and select Switch to legacy mode.
Optionally, share your reason for switching.
Click Switch to legacy. (To return to the latest version again, click Switch to the new Blueprint from your profile menu anytime.)
Your data and Progress Notes will not be affected when switching between versions.
Frequently asked questions
Will my price change?
No. Your pricing stays the same.
Does the latest version replace my EHR?
If you already use Blueprint alongside your existing EHR, you can continue working the same way after this update -- you don’t need to switch EHRs. If you’d prefer to bring everything into Blueprint, our All-in-one EHR is also available.
Can I switch back?
Yes! You can switch between versions anytime from your profile menu anytime.
Why does Blueprint look different if I didn't switch?
Your practice admin may have switched versions for everyone. Check with your admin or follow the steps above to switch back.
I don't see the option to switch.
The option to switch is only available on some Blueprint plans, and only for admin accounts. Reach out to help@blueprint.ai if you need help with this. 😃
Are there any features I'll lose if I switch to the new version of Blueprint?
The Treatment Outcomes report isn't available in the new version of Blueprint.
The ability to delete full session records isn't available, because each session is tied to its chat. You can still delete the Progress Note, Transcript, and Session Summary from the client's chart.







