Skip to main content

How to delete notes, transcripts, sessions, and treatment plans

A guide for permanently deleting session data within Blueprint.

Written by Aminda Villamagna

This article will guide you through deleting the individual pieces of a Session, an entire Session, and a Treatment Plan.


Important

  • Deleting cannot be undone

    Deleting session information is immediate, permanent, cannot be undone. We do not keep a copy and we do not have the ability to recover deleted items.

  • Deleting Transcripts impacts Treatment Plans and Magic Edit features

    In order for Blueprint to generate a treatment plan, transcripts from the client's last three sessions are required. If you delete them (or choose not to save them in the first place) you won't be able to have Blueprint generate the treatment plan for you. Of course, you can always manually create a treatment plan.

    Likewise, Magic Edit also relies on session transcripts.

  • Sessions with submitted claims or issued invoices cannot be deleted

    If a session has an insurance claim that has already been submitted or an invoice that has already been issued, you must cancel or void it before you can delete the session. Draft claims and draft invoices are automatically removed when you delete a session.

  • What remains after deleting

    When you delete anything in Blueprint, that specific item is permanently deleted and cannot be restored. However, anything that has already been generated based on that data may still be intertwined or referenced within that client's profile.

    A couple examples:

    • If you delete a transcript from a Session, the summary for that Session (which was originally generated based on the Transcript) will still exist unless you delete it.

    • If you delete an entire session, the contents of that session are deleted (the progress note, transcript, and summary) and the session will no longer show on your Session Dashboard or on the client's profile.

      If included in your plan, the insights, guidance, and suggestions that were generated based on that Session will remain and may still appear on the client's session record.


      Also, we must keep a count of all sessions in order to track how many sessions you've used. Deleting a session doesn't remove it from your usage count.


How to delete a progress note

  1. Navigate to the Session from your Sessions Dashboard or from the client's profile > Chart

  2. On the Note tab, click the three dots near the bottom-right, then Delete

  3. Click Delete Note to confirm


How to delete a transcript

  1. Navigate to the Session from your Sessions Dashboard or from the client's profile > Chart

  2. On the Transcript tab, click the Delete button near the bottom of the page

  3. Click Delete Transcript to confirm

💡 Deleting Transcripts impacts Treatment Plan generation and Magic Edit

Treatment Plans in Blueprint are generated from a client’s last three Transcripts. This means:

  • At least one Transcript must be on file in order to create a Treatment Plan.

  • Progress Notes alone are not enough to generate a Treatment Plan.

  • If you delete Transcripts, you may lose the ability to generate a Treatment Plan using Blueprint. (Though you can always upload an existing Treatment Plan!)

Without a Transcript, Magic Edit won’t work for that specific Progress Note since it uses the Transcript as the foundation for refining, updating, and personalizing the Progress Note.


How to delete a Session Summary

  1. Navigate to the Session from your Sessions Dashboard or from the client's profile

  2. On the Summary tab, click the Delete button next to the Clinician Summary and/or the Client Summary

  3. Click Delete Summary to confirm


How to delete an entire session

There are two ways to delete an entire Session: from the client's profile and from within the Session itself.

Deleting an entire Session from within the Session itself

  1. Navigate to the Session you'd like to delete

  2. Click the three dots in the upper-left corner

  3. Click Delete Session

  4. Click Delete Session again to confirm

Deleting an entire Session from the client's profile

  1. Navigate to the client's profile and into their Sessions tab

  2. Click the three dots next to the Session you'd like to delete

  3. Click Delete Session

  4. Click Delete Session again to confirm


How to delete a Treatment Plan

  1. Navigate to the client's profile and into their Treatment Plan tab

  2. Click View Treatment Plan

  3. Near the bottom of the Treatment Plan, click Delete

  4. Click Delete Treatment Plan to confirm


FAQ

If I delete an entire Session, does it still count towards my Session usage?

Yes. Each session you generate a Progress Note for counts as a Session used, even if you delete it.

Does Blueprint keep a backup of my Session recording?

No, we never keep audio files. They are deleted immediately as part of the transcription process.

I deleted my client's Session but I'm still seeing details about it when I start a new Session for this client. Was the information really deleted?

Yes, when you delete a Session, the contents of the Session (the Progress Note, Transcript, and Summary) are immediately deleted and no copies are kept.

However, anything that was generated based on that Session may still exist. This could include:

  • A record that the Session occurred. We need to that know a Session happened in order to keep track of how many Sessions you've used.

  • The insights, guidance, and suggestions. These things are generated based on that Session and are not deleted. They may still appear when using Assist if you're on the Plus plan.

As you can see in the gif below, the Sessions for Jane Appleseed have been deleted. Although the Sessions themselves no longer exist, when starting a new Session, the "Prep" section contains insights and guidance based on the client's last Session.

How can I delete everything on my client's profile?

Delete the client profile itself. This will delete everything on a client's profile, including all of their Sessions, Assessments, Worksheets, Treatment Plans, and Assist artifacts.

Like everything else that can be deleted in Blueprint, profile deletions are irreversible.

Did this answer your question?